architect l'islois of great talent, to whom we owe many achievements, notably in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue, Aix-en-Provence and Marseille, including the famous Château Borély.
The Hotel Donadeï de Campredon was built in 1746 for Charles Joseph de Campredon, from a large family of landowners, present in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue since the 14th century.
The project was designed by the architect from Isle, Esprit-Joseph Brun, who designed a private mansion on an "L" plan, with a remarkable facade arranged on the main street.
The two interior facades were developed in a simpler way in order to give more scope to a garden magnified by three niches, one of which with its fountain.
The entrance vestibule opens onto a large staircase with three suspended flights, with wrought iron banister, allowing access to the adjoining lounges on the first floor, decorated with sober plasterwork.
The elegant fountain at the end of the garden is attributed to Jean-Ange Brun, older brother of Esprit-Joseph Brun, with whom he sometimes worked, in particular for the hospital in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue.
The mansion was sold in 1865 by the Marquis de Lespine, heir to the Campredons, to the nuns of Saint-Charles. The house then becomes a school for young girls.
It was subsequently acquired by the City of L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue in 1977, then restored with the help of the Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur Region.
Registration of the private mansion in the additional inventory of Historic Monuments.
Since 1984, the Hôtel Donadéï de Campredon has hosted numerous exhibitions of modern and contemporary art. Campredon Center d'art inaugurated in 2010 offers three levels of exhibition on a surface of 500m² as well as a magnificent courtyard that can accommodate various events: Conferences, readings, concerts, dances, seminars.
The Heritage Foundation and the municipality are launching a collection of donations in 2022 in order to breathe new life into this high place of history and culture.
Following a strong mobilization, the first stage of the restoration program sees the light of day.
From January to April 2023, restoration work on the interior staircase and the entrance gate to the courtyard is carried out.
Building on its history and the big names that have been exhibited within it, the Art Center is proposing a conceptual shift in 2023 by definitively closing its cycles of 3 exhibitions per year and launching a more modern cultural project.
CAMPREDON art center then becomes CAMPREDON art & image and offers a new experience around 4 artistic mediums: Visual art - Immersive art - Photographic art - Digital art.
Each year, Islois and visitors will be able to discover a new collective exhibition of artists gathering around a theme.